Red Velvet Strawberry Chocolate Cake

(aka my birthday cake!!) 😀

My 19th birthday was on Saturday and this year, instead of buying just another cake from the store, I decided to make my own. This massive beaut took SO long to make…but thanks to the help of my wonderful mother/sidekick, it was a success! So without further ado, here’s this year’s birthday cake: Red Velvet Strawberry Chocolate Cake!

photo 5 (2)

I’ll admit, it’s not the most refined-looking cake out there. And I may have messed up at one point and tried to fix it by loading a bunch of strawberries and (more) chocolate on top of the cake. So uh, yeah, there’s that. But hey, it looks decent enough, tastes fantastic, and fulfilled all my desires for my ideal birthday cake.

Red velvet + buttercream frosting + strawberries + chocolate = always a winning combination.

photo 2 (3) photo 1 (3)

photo 3 (3)

This was my first time making a layer cake and not gonna lie, it was pretty fun. Even though you have to wait for an eternity for each cake layer to cool completely, it’s so cool to watch the whole thing come together, layer by layer. So much satisfaction in seeing that all that hard work paid off…it’s actually quite magical (sniff sniff).

Anyways, I’ll give a quick rundown on what this cake consists of. Obviously it’s red velvet cake, and the frosting is vanilla buttercream with some food coloring to make it a pretty pink color. I also mixed some fresh chopped up strawberries into each layer because you can never have enough strawberries, am I right? The whole cake is topped with a dark chocolate ganashe (which came in handy in covering tragic mistakes made while frosting, whoops), and was finally finished off with sprinkles and more strawberries. YUM!

cake feat. mother
Cake feat. mother’s hand

photo 5 (3)

photo 3 (2)

photo 1 (2)

The pictures really don’t do this cake justice. Guess you’ll just have to take my word for it! SO. GOOD.

Hop on over to Heather Christo’s website for this recipe (and to see how pretty this cake was supposed to turn out!). Miss Heather, you are a cake genius and I need to get on your level ASAP.

P.S. I got a couple different cookbooks for my birthday and I fully plan on utilizing them this summer! 🙂

Leave a Reply

