Irish Cream Cake Balls

Okay, I really went balls out for this one (sorry, had to). But really, making these cake balls was an all-day operation. B what else was I supposed to do on a foggy June day? Even though I labored over these for hours, it was so worth it! So behold, my newest creation: Irish Cream Cake Balls!

IMG_1889

I got this recipe from another book of mine called Cake Balls: Amazingly Delicious Bite-Size Treats. When read that this recipe included Bailey’s Irish Cream, I knew I had to try it! (Plus I was really craving some good ol’ dark chocolate.)

Making cake balls is really quite easy, there are just a lot of steps involved. First, you bake a cake then let it cool. Then you mash it together with frosting until it reaches a dough-like consistency.

IMG_1880  IMG_1898

Next you form the dough into balls and freeze them for a couple hours. After that, it’s time for dipping! I used almost all 24 oz. of chocolate the recipe called for and it got pretty messy. Chocolate. Everywhere. Which isn’t the worst thing in the world if ya know what I mean.

IMG_1886

And finally, after decorating the cake balls with some clear sprinkles, here’s what the finished product looked like!

IMG_1881

IMG_1887

These are so freaking good. The inside of these cake balls taste like subtly Irish cream-flavored cookie dough and trust me, it’s really hard to refrain from eating the whole tray. The finely-chopped pecan pieces add the perfect amount of chewiness to the smooth texture of this decadent dessert. I could gush about these all day (which is basically how long it took to make them)!

IMG_1901

IMG_1893

IMG_1895

Shout out to my friends who brought this recipe book back for me from New York a couple years ago! You guys rock ❤

Well that’s all folks–stay tuned for some birthday cake making (mine’s on Saturday whoot whoot)!

Leave a Reply

