{Healthy and Flourless} Glazed Apple Pie Cookies

Happy Summer everyone!! I’ve been back home for approximately 3 days and I’ve already landed a job (at a local, artisan bread company–guess my blog title is now very appropriate), gotten somewhat tan, and binge-watched Scandal. Oh, yeah, and I just baked up these scrumptious little cookies. Ah, the life of a college student on break….

 photo 2

photo 4

SO I stumbled across this recipe a couple months ago and I’ve been dying to give it a go. I was initially suspicious about these cookies being advertised as “healthy and flourless,” because the word “cookies” doesn’t usually follow those two words. But you know what, they turned out great! Despite the estimated total time being 25 minutes on the recipe, it took me about 2 hours to reach the finished product. But I’m not complaining–it just meant more episodes of Scandal to catch up on while I baked. How tragic.

This recipe calls for oat flour and almond butter (because the cookies are supposed to be healthy, ya feel). I’d never made oat flour before, but it’s actually quite simple: you measure out old-fashioned oats, pulse them in a food processor for a hot second, and voila! And substituting almond butter for regular butter made the cookies feel less heavy sitting in your stomach, which cuts back (slightly) on the guilt of consuming them.

photo 1

After adding all of the spices to the mixture, I stirred in the chopped apple and pecan pieces and this is what the dough looked like. When the cookies came out of the oven–and after I impatiently waited for them to cool–I topped them with a vanilla maple glaze which was sweet and DELICIOUS (but not too nutritious). Here’s the finished product once again:

photo 5

photo 3

And as promised, here’s the original recipe from Chelsea’s Messy Apron. Bon appetit!

**Update: These stay moist and chewy for days! 🙂

Leave a Reply

